Here is a sneak peek at one of the newest spreads for ‘Hug Something Horrible’ (see previous post for more). I actually started this painting about a year and half ago. It was packed up during a move and forgotten about. I started back up on it this weekend. It’s sort of odd picking up the same painting after such a long break, but I’m excited to be working on the book again.

I’m posting some photos of the process for this painting because this one took me back to my childhood and memories of a particular book I used to love as a kid. I wish I could remember the name of it. One of the pages that stands out so vividly depicted a dungeon cell with two huge, gnarly, monstrous feet poking out through the cell bars. The legs continued up for a way then disappeared into the darkness. It’s interesting to me that the most memorable image from that book was just the hint of something. My imagination ran wild wondering what awful beast belonged to those feet!

As you can see in some of the thumbnail sketches below, this particular illustration called for a very large monster as well. I played around with some different scenarios but in the end had to pay homage to the image I loved so much as a kid.

