My 10 year high school reunion was this past week. I attended the same private school from kindergarten through my senior year in high school. I have at least 10 other siblings and cousins who all did the same. This year also happened to mark the 40th anniversary of the school and they held an alumni art auction to benefit The Springs of Hope Orphanage in Kenya, Africa – an organization the school supports through its missions.

Although a small school, it did have a strong art department that I was fortunate enough to enjoy. So when I was contacted about participating in the auction I was excited for the opportunity to give back. I don’t remember ever considering a career in art as I was concentrating on the still life’s of draped cloth and fruit all those years ago. But here I am, 10 years later, a professional illustrator and designer. I’ve loved art and drawing for as long as I can remember, it’s just I don’t think I realized I could make a living out of it until much later.

All of the participating artists were mailed a 12″ x 12″ panel to paint on (or whatever medium they preferred). As I do a majority of my work digitally these days I was a bit hesitant to send my high school art teacher a painting. I was a bit rusty and there were certainly some trouble spots, but overall, I was pleased with how it turned out. And the best part is the auction raised nearly $8,000 for the orphanage!

Noah's Ark

